“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”

Last hurrah for 2016! Island Kapre goes to Mindanao! #TourdeMindanao

Itinerary:

December 4-5: Samal Island  (Part 1)

December 5-7: Samal Island – Mati city (Dahican) (Part 2)

December 7-8: Cateel (Aliwagwag Falls) – Mangagoy, Bislig (Tinuy-an & Lake 77) – Hinatuan  (Enchanted River) (Part 3)

December 9: Mangagoy, Bilig – Davao city

 

Untitled.jpg
#WhereisChris

This is my 2nd time in Mindanao this year. Last February I celebrated my birthday week in Davao city & Mati (Dahican). I enjoyed every second, minute, hour & days! That’s why I decided to go back to Mindanao and visit other tourist spots. Luckily, I was able to book a flight from Manila to Davao for 599 pesos and CDO to Manila for 399 pesos only! Hooray seat Cebpac sale! #flyforfree #getgo

Day 1 – Davao City to Samal

I left Manila 5:25 am and arrived 6:45 am in Davao city. I went straight out of the airport and hailed a cab going to Samal ferry wharf. I paid 120 pesos from Davao international airport to Samal ferry wharf/Sasa wharf (jump-off point to Samal). Ferry fare is 10 pesos/head and it will only take 10-15 minutes to get to Samal.

 

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0003.
Samal ferry
DCIM100GOPROGOPR0001.
Samal island

After disembarking, I immediately approached one of the habal-habal (motorcycle) drivers and asked where can I rent a motorcycle for one day. He gave me a crappy Honda XRM bike (semi-automatic) for 600 pesos excluding gas. I agreed without thinking twice because it was starting to rain already. (They don’t usually rent out bikes here and the only transportation available around are motorcycles and tricycles. So if you want to go around the island the best option is to rent a motorcycle.)

After trying to figure out how to use a semi-automatic bike (my first time to use one). I went straight to Monfort Bat Cave. It is said to house 1.8 million fruit bats (2006)! How cool is that! Entrance fee is 100 pesos/head. Be sure to apply mosquito repellent before going here the place is infested with mosquitoes!

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0006.
Cool!

You can stay here for 30-45 minutes.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0007.
245 ft-long cave

Monfort Bat Cave – Checked!

Next stop – La Vida Orchard Samal!

The travel time from Monfort Bat Cave to La Vida Orchard 25-30 minutes.

I stayed there for 1 day (500/night with breakfast). I booked a single bed (dorm type room). The room has AC, working hot/cold water, 2 baths & 6 double deck beds. The place is clean and properly maintained. I booked through booking.com and got a discount. Here is their FB page (https://www.facebook.com/lavidaorchard.samal) Look for Nino he is the resort manager/owner. It is not a beach front resort but the beach is just 2-3 minute away. 🙂

Don’t forget try their corn coffee!

After checking in and resting for a while, I went to see Hagimit Falls and Kaputian beach.

Hagimit Falls

Entrance fee: 60 pesos

Too bad is was raining when I went here 😦 I didn’t enjoy my stay here because the water was muddy. I’ll be back!

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0017.
PS don’t go here during rainy season
DCIM100GOPROGOPR0014.
I beat this place looks great during summer

Next stop – Kaputian Beach

Entrance Fee: 10 pesos/head

An average semi-private white sand beach, where families and barkadas visit during weekend to camp, party and drink. Avoid this place during weekends if you want peace and quite. 🙂 Also, don’t forget to wear aqua shoes! Sea urchin ALERT!

GOPR0020.JPG
Gloomy weather
GOPR0027.JPG
Practice time!
DCIM100GOPROGOPR0118.
Going back to La Vida Orchard

Day 2 – Giant Clams Sanctuary (Taklobo)

Entrance Fee: 100 pesos/head + 500 pesos boat rental (100 pesos for mask & snorkel)

Getting here wasn’t easy. The road was muddy and slippery (it rained hard the night before).

I just took pictures of the area because I need to go back to the hotel and check out. I need to be in Mati city (Dahican) by 5 in the afternoon. Also, I didn’t have enough money to pay for the boat. I only had 200 pesos in my pocket 😦 but I’ll be back soon! with plenty of cash :))

 

GOPR0112.JPG
Malipano private beach

 

 

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0117.
Abandoned house

 

After checking out, I went back to Davao city to catch a van going to Mati City (Dahican). I left Davao City (Gaisano Mall) at 12NN and arrived at Mati city 3:30PM.

Part II – Mati city (Dahican) Maybe next week 🙂

